RSS

Spreading the Sacrifice

21 Feb

I just had a friend email me to let me know tthey did the math showing that the $100 million Obama wants to cut from Federal spending is about 1/35,000 of the debt. They, being good citizens, were willing to go along and you know what?  So am I.  So in the spirit of that great sacrifice our fearless leader is proposing, I am willing to do my share.  I owe about $3,000 on my credit card and that means that using the President’s own math I need to cut my spending by… $0.08.5.  THat’s right, if i cut my spending by 8.5 cents I will be matching the budget sacrifice proposed by the president relative to the debt we face.  I had no idea it was so big.

In fact, I was not sure at first that I could do it without cutting something critical, so I undertook a careful budget analysis.  Well, heck, it will be tight, i know, but the country is in trouble so I will show that I am a good citizen.   In fact, I’m in a sacrificial and generous mood so i’ll round that up to 9-cents.  How do you like that?   So I expect the same from all of my concerned friends.

Now I do have one extremely liberal friend and if he holds true to form he will actually want me to DOUBLE my sacrifice so that he will not have to make his own and thereby better preserve his far more important and enlightened state of personal security.  And you know what, by golly I’ll do it.   I hereby solemnly promise to follow my President’s lead and my liberal friend’s need and trim not 9-cents but  18-cents from my own profligate spending ways.  In fact, I’ll go some better than that.  Because my State, California, is equally bankrupt and needs to do some trimming I’ll join in the game and just raise that 18-cents to twenty cents.  You do realize we are now talking one fifth of a whole dollar so we are well into meaningful cash here.

i hope you are as impressed with my sacrifice as I am with his…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Spreading the Sacrifice

  1. Gary

    February 25, 2011 at 9:23 am

    I see you appreciated that crafty bit of mathematics as I did!!!

    G

     
    • David

      February 28, 2011 at 3:23 pm

      Ha,I saw that in en email from Tricia and am pleased to know it was you who did the actual math. And i hope you appreciated the incredible financial sacrifice i was willing to make to go along with the plan proposed by our fearless leader.
      D

       

Leave a Reply

 
